Workouts for the New Year – Log #2 Swimming

Image

Workouts for the New Year - Log #2 Swimming

I have heard if you do something for 21 days you will have developed a new habit. I am going to try to keep up my workouts for 21 days, taking two days off for rest and recovery each week. My goal is not to have the best or most difficult workouts but to just get up and get moving and do something, anything for exercise.

Have you ever gotten up and just felt a little off and thought, I just do not have the energy to work out? Well, for me today I woke up with a sinus infection and thought to myself if I should really work out. Then, I remembered that our swimming pool at the club is a salt water pool, which usually helps my head feel a little clearer when I get out.

So, I forced myself to hop into the pool with no special workout in mind. I thought, if I just use the kick board and swim lightly I will be better off than sitting at home thinking about working out.

I ended up having a great swim. I swam more laps without resting than I have in a long time. My lungs and head felt great. I didn’t count my laps like I usually do and just swam until I was fatigued. I am not a strong swimmer, so I mix my laps with all strokes, freestyle, breast and back stroke. I tend to get a little bored so this way it gives me a bit of variety. I call my swim today a success and got rid of my tension and stresses at the same time!
Join me and step out and get some exercise today.
Do some kind of movement with purpose whether it be a walk, jumprope, swim, ………..your choice.
Let us know about your success for the day. -Karen

Leave a Reply

