Happy Mothers Day from friendsfavz! 2013

Standard

Happy Mothers Day!IMG_9414A tribute to my MOM!

(My mom seen here with my dad, me and three of my sisteres)

My mom would tell you that I am a person of few words. She would send me off to camp when I was in grade school and pack paper, envelopes (all addressed and stamped) and a pencil for me to write a letter when I was away at camp.  The camp counselors always gave us time to write a letter home but I would sit on my bunk and stare at the paper. I could never  think of anything to write, so I never did and would bring back the empty letter to my mom.

Well, Mom this is to make up for all the words I did not write in the past.

My mom is the mother to six beautiful daughters, so she tells us. People use to say that she looked like one of the sisters when we were teens and we would all giggle at the thought. My favorite memory growing up is when my mom would dress up in her “fancy” clothes. They did not have the opportunity to go out much but she did have a dress that I loved. It was a  beautiful yellow 1960’s shift dress with a yellow feather boa trim on the bottom. Just like you would see one of the movie stars wearing. She looked wonderful in it too. I loved that dress and would often go into her closet and look at it. What I would do to have that dress today.  She always had her makeup done and her hair fixed (thinking back I wonder how she always had a fancy hairdo when she had no blow dryer or hot curlers.) The house always seemed clean and she made a huge dinner for us every night. I often wonder how she managed to keep the house, kids, events in order and keep calm too?

Now as an adult I most treasure the help my mom has been to me as a teen and into my adulthood. I remember we would come home from school, even as teens, walk through the door and yell to mom “I’m home”.  Never identifying ourselves by name because she surely knew us by our voices. We felt secure because we knew there would always be a reply of “OK”. She sacrificed years to “be there for us” and ready to listen when we needed to vent.  She is still great at listening and I realize what a rare quality this is and how much I  value her ability to listen without judging.

I cannot tell you how many times my mom has come to my rescue to rock sick babies or give a helping hand.  She surely has a gift to soothe babies and get them to sleep.  Now, I still call her for tips on how to cook certain dishes or for her advice on how to raise a teenager and still maintain your sanity.

Thank you mom for all your unconditional love ! All in all, yes, I have a wonderful MOM!

Do you have a favorite memory of your mom growing up? Share with us in the comments, we would love to get to know you and your mom.

PS.To Mom:  At camp I swam, ran, made new friends, didn’t like the food and had a fun time!

Love always, Karen

2 responses »

  1. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did yyou hire out a designer to create your
    theme? Fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

